Difference between a Guru and a Teacher

On this teacher’s day I share,

How Swami was my teacher first and then Guru and finally God

 Surrender

A teacher takes responsibility for your growth. You taught till it was time to learn.

A Guru makes you responsible for your growth. After teaching the lessons, You put me out in the world to practise the lessons and be responsible for my inner growth.

A teacher answers your questions. You answered lot of my doubts.

A Guru questions your answers. Now when I come up with some answers, You prod me to look deeper into the answers to understand the ultimate truth.

A teacher helps you get out of the maze. You guided me through various ups and downs in life and You still do.

A Guru destroys the maze. You hold my hand and lead me through the journey of life but constantly making me aware of the illusory world

A teacher requires obedience and discipline from the pupil. You always expect these from Your devotees and students.

A Guru requires trust and humility from the pupil. You expect devotees to follow the human values and make their lives Your message.

A teacher clothes you and prepares you for the outer journey. You gave me strength to handle various journeys of life.

A Guru strips you naked and prepares you for the inner journey. Now You put me to various tests and prepare me to realise my inner strength.

A teacher is a guide on the path. You hold my hand in my path of life

A Guru is a pointer to the way. You show me my ultimate goal.

A teacher sends you on the road to success. You led me towards the road of success.

A Guru sends you on the road to freedom. Now You lead me towards path of faith and surrender which gives me freedom. (I am still a very weak student though, will learn with Your grace)

A teacher explains the world and its nature to you. You taught me how to live in this world through the values.

A Guru explains yourself and your nature to you. Now You explain my true self and ask me to look within to realise that I am none other than You.

A teacher gives you knowledge and boosts your ego. You gave me grace and blessings which increased my ego.

A Guru takes away your knowledge and punctures your ego. You taught me various lessons which shattered my ego.

A teacher instructs you. You instructed me through Knowledge and information

A Guru constructs you. You construct me now through transformation.

A teacher sharpens your mind. Through the worldly knowledge You helped me sharpen my mind

A Guru opens your mind. Now You open my mind in trying to understand and love everyone.

A teacher is to pupil what a father is to son. You are my Father

A Guru is to pupil what mother is to her child. You are my Mother

As a teacher You held my hand to guide me

As a Guru, You led me by example.

Ever thankful and grateful to my Divine teacher and Master Bhagavan Sri Sathya Sai Baba.

 (Adapted from http://www.lovingsilence.org/cms/content/Difference-between-a-Guru-and-a-Teacher-)

Leave a Reply

