Chapter 1- SWAMI- Knowing Him through my daughter

My older daughter Samyuktha, was the instrument for me to come into Swamy’s fold and experience HIM regularly.

This all started when we went to India to my mother’s place in Feb 2008. My children are very much attached to my mother, Samyuktha wanted to listen to bedtime stories every night. My mother (amma)had just come to Swami’s fold then and she had started reading books about HIM. So she narrated some of Swami’s stories to Samyu. This caught Samyu’s interest and she started asking if Swami was really God? Is He Alive, Can He Talk, walk etc. She had heard about Swami’s ashram Prashanti Nilayam from amma. She wanted to visit this place and see Swami. As I myself didn’t come to HIS fold directly by then, I said, “let’s try to do it next time, as we didn’t plan before”. She then started asking; “If Swami is God, why doesn’t He come to Singapore?” Amma told her that He doesn’t travel anywhere. But, He will hear us from anywhere. She did not understand and started troubling amma why not??? Amma could not explain it to her further and asked me to tell her the same. I tried to explain it to her but in vain. She was very stubborn and insisting He should come to Singapore. Then, I said (out of frustration), “go and ask Him if you don’t believe us. Stop troubling us.” She started talking to Him on her own and wanted Him to come to Singapore. Her prayer was very strong. I didn’t know much about Swami by then. At that point, she was more familiar with Swami than me. (I had been to Parthi (Puttaparthy- Swami’s birth place) twice in childhood. But, I didn’t have such an impact then).  Finally we came back to Singapore.

We landed in Singapore early in the morning and were very tired. In the noon, we fell asleep. At 2pm in the noon, she suddenly woke me up from sleep and started saying, “Mummy, Swami kept His promise and He came to our house. See He is going away.” She ran out into the hall and I followed. She was pointing to Him and saying see, “He is going away”. Did you see? I said, “no”. I explained to her that I didn’t crave for HIM so, I didn’t see HIM. Then, I asked her what happened, she narrated that “while I was sleeping, suddenly I opened my eyes and saw Swamy standing near my feet. He was looking into my eyes. I bent down and took padanamaskaram, He blessed me on my head, put Vibhuthi on my forehead and I woke you up and then He started going away”.

I knew she was dreaming. But, she said that she wasn’t dreaming. She was opening her eyes and seeing Him. She has a complication of ‘Lazy Eye’ which was detected in September 2007 . We were very worried about the same and praying to God for some miracle to take place and this happened. I asked her, “if you are seeing Him in real, without your glasses, how did you see HIM? Maybe you were mistaken”.  She said,” no mummy, I could see Him clearly. His feet are very small”. She said this as a confirmation (she didn’t have so much information).

She was in a state of bliss which I didn’t understand then. Though I could understand that, she had Swami’s Darshan but, I could not gauge her feelings. After this, in 4 days time we had her eye check up. The Doctor said, “It’s a miracle, there is no threat of lazy eye”(though she has to wear glasses due to the Astigmatism) That made me understand that she saw HIM seeing into her eyes.

I thanked HIM for the miracle following HIS Darshan. From then on there was no looking back, Swami became a part of our daily life.

By Meena Palepu

(Meena is a good friend of mine, who has been very active in the Sai centre in Singapore for the past 6 years. Both her daughters Samyu and Sai are SSE students. Samyu is a good bhajan singer and orator. Both the girls are actively involved in Seva activities in Singapore)

One thought on “Chapter 1- SWAMI- Knowing Him through my daughter

  1. Pingback: 90th Birthday Tribute to the Divine Master by Sai Mahila and Sai balsanskaar team Singapore | Premaarpan

Leave a Reply

