Dec 23, 2010

We all are aware of the 4 varnas and 4 ashrama stages as below 
  • Varnashrama-dharma – duties performed according to the system of four varnas (social divisions) and four ashrams (stages in life).
  • Four varnasbrahmanas (priests, teachers, and intellectuals), kshatriyas (police, army, and administration), vaishyas (farmers, merchants, and business people), shudras (artisans and workers).
  • Four ashrams – student life, household life, retirement, and renunciation.

How Bhagavatam describes the true meaning of above are worth knowing. We are mistaken when we say that we are born in a particular caste etc. Just being born in a brahmin family doesnt entitle us to claim ourselves a brahmin. Bhagavatam says Shudras are those who see in life no greater purpose than the satisfaction of wants and desires of the body, such persons eat, sleep, work, multiply and finally die. These people are concerned only about the worldly affairs with no inclination whatsoever, in knowing themselves or anything related to God or spirituality.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s